top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZoe Hsu

The Sparkle Of Collision

The interview of a Taiwanese filmmaker


Yuen Hsieh, is a filmmaker based in London and Shanghai.

During his studies in Royal College of Art, Hsieh’s films inspired

by his experiences, the style of his film is sci-fi. He

aims to challenge viewers to consider current environments

and technologies.

Hsieh has filmed projects in Kenya, Iceland, Czech Republic

and Tokyo since 2010, has exhibited his artistic works in London,

Berlin, Monaco, Beijing and Taipei. Hsieh’s has created

commissioned video advertisements for London Design Biennale,

also a lot of brands, such as Chanel Taiwan, Samsung,

etc. He is the founder of Yuen Hsieh Studio and works worldwide

for various types of projects.


You were formerly a fine art artist, how has fine art has inspired

you in filmmaking?

Actually, I wasn’t majoring in filmmaking in the first place.

I was inspired by the performance art organization Fluxus,

such as John Cage and Nam June Paik.

They are pioneers and experimental ways to create images,

sounds and performance art. In the beginning I just recorded

some casual movement by myself. The project is called

”control and out of control.”

By then, my hand was plastered because of an injury. At that

time, there was a work that had to be handed in. Because

of the incapable of my hand, everything was difficult, so I’ve

read about some artists who are physically challenged, how

their life and challenges inspire them in creation. That’s why

I stated the project “control and out of control,” created in

incontrollable way. So I decided to major in filmmaking before

entering the Royal Academy of Arts.

Which one of your works best represents your style? What

make you establish your current style?

It should be the film “Xiu Long.” This is the most me, and it’s the

first and only one nonprofit project after my graduation.

This project was the only one which I had no sponsor, I paid

for it by myself for was a participant in the London Design Biennale.

I didn’t think too much just sincerely did what I wanted.

I feel like when I am working on a project, I love it very

much, I would be totally devoted to my goal. And I am still

building my style of work and enriching it in a creative way.

Your work “Xiu Long,” include many elements of subculture

to express Taiwanese culture. What inspired you to do this

combination?

I just happened based on the culture in my memory. The costumes

were inspired by my favorite snack when I was a kid. the

dragon and lion dance are from the “Beihou’s Tianhou Temple

in Taiwan, the traditional market my mom usually goes to, and

the Taiwanese beer I used to drink in high school. The character

“Old man works in the traditional market” in film “Xiu Long”,

there is a photo on his costume, that photo was me when I

was in army. The number was 32061.

I’ve read an interview of you, you consider your style to be

“Hi-tech, low life, for a brighter tomorrow.” Can I define “low

life” as a Taiwanese subculture?

It is not an interpretation of Taiwan’s sub-culture, but most

of the sub-cultures are born out of this kind of low-life anger,

such as some subculture inspired by Punk, Hip Pop music.

I expect myself to experience and embrace these cultures no

matter how old am I.

What do you think is unique to Taiwan’s sub-cultural spirit?

I think that Taiwanese subculture is influenced by Japanese

culture; it’s spiritual, exquisiteness and perseverance. In the

other hand, it’s kind of rough and collisional. It exists in various

fields, hard to explain in a few paragraphs.

What is the biggest challenge in your current image creation?

Continuously finding interesting and pioneering partners in

various fields to work together, create ideas, not just in visual

arts and filmmaking.

In your future projects, will you continue with a subcultural

perspective, or what new elements will appear in your work?

The subculture will be the core of my work, just as fashion is

deeply influenced by the subculture and youth culture. I hope

people consider my work is real, makes sense, and is not just

shocking.

In the future, there will be more elements added, and I will

look forward to sharing it with people.

8 views
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page